The WBFC Bylaws originally defines 5 Standing Committees. Two additional ad hoc committees (Invasive Biota and Communications) have been added over the years.

There shall be five standing committees: a committee on books and photographs, a committee on finance, a committee on house and grounds, a committee on membership, and a committee on research. The members of these committees shall be appointed annually by the President and shall perform their duties under the direction of the Board of Managers.